Small Voyager PADD Project

Whilst I wait for my 2 Stapleton Production Tricorders, I decided to go ahead and order a Small Voyager PADD Kit from Etsy. I went for it because I needed some practice with priming/painting/clear coating, but mostly because I love the look of PADDs. And it’s a relatively affordable project to screw up.

1149469759_qk60

As an inexperienced Kit builder, I just wanted to ask some initial questions:

1. This post suggests that Duplicolor BGM0478 is a great colour match. I’ve got one being shipping in from US, but is there a readily available UK equivalent?
  2. I’m going to need to round off the corners of the perspex. Does anyone have a good method for this? Right now I guess I’m just going to have to sand it down by hand. I just worry I might end up with uneven edges.
  3. Does anyone know of a good source where I can find printed graphics for the main screen?

I’ve done a handful of these in the past. I’ve been very happy with Duplicolor BGM0478, though I’m from the US, so I can speak for readily available alternatives in the US.

So far, I’ve always rounded the edges manually with sandpaper and sanding blocks and a few hours of time. As long as you have good lighting, I don’t think you’ll have to worry about the edges being noticeably uneven. Over the past few months I got a dremel and routing table, so it’s on my list to try using that to get the bevel, though I’m sure some manual cleanup will still be necessary.